Posted by: Jenny | August 23, 2013

Vacuums (not the good kind)

Nature abhors a vacuum, and apparently, so does my body.

Five days after a fairly routine hysterectomy, I became deathly ill. So ill, in fact, that I could not really comprehend what was going on with my body. Was it just the after-effects of surgery, I wondered? I was reluctant to call the doctor because I didn’t want to overreact. And, it was my husband’s birthday, and that would suck for him to spend it at the hospital.

Two days later, my husband got me to the emergency room, and after a CT scan, an abscess was found. Cultures revealed E. Coli as the culprit.

This abscess decided to take over the spot where my uterus used to hang out. I had so looked forward to ridding my body of this organ that was enlarged and causing me problems, but my abdomen didn’t get the memo. The abscess was 8 centimeters in length.

And so, I was treated to intravenous antibiotics and pain killers and drainage for 2 full days, and spent my birthday sleeping in a hospital bed. Eventually, the doctor declared me healthy enough to go home. Actually, his words were “Get out of my hospital!” He was goofy.

Once home and on the mend, I’ve done some research into abscesses, and figured out why I was kept in the hospital for two nights – they are pretty awful! I mean, I know I was sick, but didn’t realize that had it ruptured, I could have died from sepsis. This is 2013, and I could have died from the same thing that killed my grandfather in 1939!

So here I am, still on sick leave, knowing more about abscesses that I ever could have imagined, and pondering Aristotle’s observation from 2,300 years ago. I’m pretty sure this wasn’t what he had in mind, though.

Responses

  1. Glad you are still alive Jennifer! Wish you could have some normal health for a change. Glad it hasn’t effected your sense of humor. When I hit the lottery I will send you and Matt on a much deserved vacation.

    Like

    • Dude, one of these days, I’ll run out of things to go wrong and I’ll be perfectly healthy! Thanks in advance for the vacation.

      Like

      • You have got to be close to running out. I know you count your blessings and it can always be worse but you should get a break from it.

        Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Bert Fulks

Fall. Surrender. Restore. Rise. Repeat.

Proof Perfectly

Editing - Copywriting - Advice

Glioblastology

Graduate trained philosopher documents his battle with glioblastoma.

Another Mama With A Blog

I'm a Mom. I have a blog.

Finding my Miracle

Tackling chronic illness with joy and humour, one day at a time

The Tommy Westphall Universe

The little boy, the snowglobe and all of television

Brick House 319

Voted Best DIY Blog - Main Line Today Magazine - Home + Garden + Local Getaways + Travel

